From Zero to Technical Founder of #1 Product Hunt Startup

Hi there!

I wanted to share my story of the last one and a half year here. I’ll try to keep it as short as I can.

One and a half year ago when I would read a piece of code (in any language) it was alien to me. Last Friday, the startup that I build from scratch myself finished at #1 in Product Hunt.

I started programming roughly 1 and a half years ago. I was finishing my Bachelor in Liberal Arts and Science with a major in Business & Management, had fallen in love with entrepreneurship, and wanted to be able to put my ideas into testable concepts. I had, what I thought, were so many fantastic ideas but I could not get them further than a concept without having to pay somebody to build a website for me. I wanted to be able to it myself.

I started with HTML/CSS in Codecademy and expanded it later with Javascript and Jquery (all on an old Codecademy account). This was enough to help me spin up many websites to present ideas, and gradually, I became better and better at it. With Codecademy, Stackoverflow, and W3schools on my side, it felt like there was nothing that I could not built (even though it would always take longer than estimated).