Fit background to text

Hello, I’m fairly new to html and css and I have a question!

I was trying to have it so that my paragraphs all had a slightly transparent grey background, which I achieved. However, the background goes all the way across the page, but I want it to fit around the text like a box.

Here is what I have for my paragraph element on my style-sheet:

p {
color: white;
padding-left: 30px;
font-size: 22px;
background: rgba(211,211,211,0.5);
}

I tried changing the padding to the right, changing the margin and border, and changing the background-position, but I couldn’t seem to figure it out.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Paragraph text is not the ideal thing to style. Better that it were in a container, with the background applied to that. Set the width on the container and the paragraph will conform to that width. Also apply the padding to the container, not the paragraph.

I switched my styling to a div element containing the content I want to style. Adjusting the width fixed my problem with the background going all the way across the page, however when I try to add padding, it only affects the text, and not the background. I’m trying to move it just a bit away from the left, but I can’t seem to figure out how. Here is a screenshot of what I’m talking about!:
background
The grey background touches the left edge of my page, which I’m trying to avoid.

Thank you for your help!

Sample

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
  <meta charset="UTF-8">
  <title>Centering text and headings</title>
  <style>
    body {
      font-size: 100%;
    }
    div {
      width: 90%;
      margin: 0 auto;
      border: 2px solid black;
    }
    h1 {
      width: 90%;
      margin: 0.5em auto;
      color: white;
      background: gray;
      line-height: 2em;
      font-size: 1.5rem;
      text-align: center;
    }
    p {
      width: 85%;
      margin: 1em auto;
    }
  </style>
</head>
<body>
  <div>
    <h1>Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet</h1>