FAQ: Control Flow - Boolean Variables

This community-built FAQ covers the “Boolean Variables” exercise from the lesson “Control Flow”.

Paths and Courses
This exercise can be found in the following Codecademy content:

Computer Science

FAQs on the exercise Boolean Variables

Join the Discussion. Help a fellow learner on their journey.

Ask or answer a question about this exercise by clicking reply (reply) below!

Agree with a comment or answer? Like (like) to up-vote the contribution!

Need broader help or resources? Head here.

Looking for motivation to keep learning? Join our wider discussions.

Learn more about how to use this guide.

Found a bug? Report it!

Have a question about your account or billing? Reach out to our customer support team!

None of the above? Find out where to ask other questions here!

8 posts were split to a new topic: Py print does seem to work? Am I using it wrong?

I apologize, I am still pretty new at this. This is from an example in step 4/12 under ‘Control Flow’ sectino of Python 3. How is bool_one true and bool_two false? 5! is 120, and with the space in between, Python is clearly not performing the calculation. The math checks out in bool_two, but again i understand it is treating the characters as a string and not integers. Is the issue that ‘1 + 1 !’ has invalid syntax and thus cannot be equal to a variable? or is it perhaps that the ‘+’ requires an impossible calculation and thus cannot be equal to a variable? Thank you for your help and please stay safe out there!

bool_one = 5 != 7
bool_two = 1 + 1 != 2

I think you misunderstand the != operator, which means: not equal

5 does not equal 7 → true
2 does not equal 2 → false, these values are equal

! is not a factorial operator here.

1 Like

HA that makes total sense. the space had me weirded out and I could not figure this out for me.