Exercise 18.. missing something basic

Hi all,

I'm new to coding and python is the first course I'm working through from beginning to end.

I'm working on exercise 18 "Using a list of lists in a function"

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/python-beginner-nzzVa/4/2?curriculum_id=4f89dab3d788890003000096#

The aim is to create a function called flatten that takes a single list and concatenates all the sublists that are part of it into a single list.

I receive the following error message when trying to run the code below:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "python", line 28, in
File "python", line 21, in flatten
TypeError: 'int' object is not iterable

Am I trying to apply something here that just is not suited to the task? Is the original solution viable, or is some variation of the second solution better, and why?

n = [[1, 2, 3], [4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9]]

"""If I use the code below, I can complete the exercise. 
However, I want to use a range as we have been doing throughout this course. 
As I understand it, it's a better approach to use.

def flatten(lists):
    results = []
    for numbers in lists:
        for items in numbers:
            results.append(items)
    print results
    return results    

print flatten(n)

"""

#the code below here is what I am trying to get to work, but it doesn't work.
def flatten(lists):
    results = []
    for numbers in range(len(lists)):
        for items in numbers:
            results.append(items)
    print results
    return results

print flatten(n)

Consider what that means and where you could be doing that in your code. And once you've found where you'll need to consider what you meant to do there, perhaps you mixed up some variables, perhaps you meant to do some other operation.