Error installing numpy on m1 Mac using terminal

I get an error trying to install numpy via terminal on m1 mac, Big Sur V11.2.3

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? Any help would be appreciated :slightly_smiling_face: I’m a complete beginner!

I am doing this as part of the lesson. https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/videos/learn-python3-pipenv

The error is as follows:

$ pipenv --version
pipenv, version 2020.11.15
$ pip install numpy
Collecting numpy
  Downloading numpy-1.20.2.zip (7.8 MB)
     |████████████████████████████████| 7.8 MB 4.6 MB/s 
  Installing build dependencies ... done
  Getting requirements to build wheel ... done
    Preparing wheel metadata ... done
Building wheels for collected packages: numpy
  Building wheel for numpy (PEP 517) ... error
  ERROR: Command errored out with exit status 1:
   command: /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.9/bin/python3.9 

########### CLIB COMPILER OPTIMIZATION ###########
  Platform      :
    Architecture: unsupported
    Compiler    : gcc

CPU baseline  :
    Requested   : optimization disabled
    Enabled     : none
    Flags       : none
    Extra checks: none
    Requested   : optimization disabled

CPU dispatch  :
    Enabled     : none
    Generated   : none
  CCompilerOpt._cache_write[796] : write cache to path -> /private/var/folders/hk/hrdgtjf97nn876br60rct7ph0000gn/T/pip-install-txk9o_ip/numpy_0f9ab437afb74064bb95c3d2f2e172f4/build/temp.macosx-10.9-universal2-3.9/ccompiler_opt_cache_clib.py
  ----------------------------------------
  ERROR: Failed building wheel for numpy
Failed to build numpy
ERROR: Could not build wheels for numpy which use PEP 517 and cannot be installed directly
$ 

Ok so I’ve actually solved my own issue! :joy:

Solution =

1. Quit terminal
  2. Find terminal app icon via finder
  3. Right-click the terminal icon > get info > open using Rossetta
  4. Restart terminal
  5. Do your numpy thang! (Try to install numpy again!)