Error in sals shipping project

Hey guys, how you are doing.

im new at learning python, and im kinda stuck with a code i cant fix for myself, i hope you guys can have a look.

i have tried to make the assignement , but it was kinda hard for me, so to know what i was doing wrong i watched the explanation movie to understand where i go wrong.

however, even when i copy the code from the video i still got a unbountlocalerror

this is the github code url :slight_smile: https://gist.github.com/cd9dbf7ce64e0ba72725ba54572a0d10

and this is the code:

def shipping_cost_ground(weight):

if weight <= 2 :
price_per_pound = 1.50
elif weight <= 6 :
price_per_pound = 3
elif weight <= 10 :
price_per_pound : 4
else:
price_per_pound : 4.75

return 20 + (price_per_pound * weight)

print(shipping_cost_ground(8.4))

and this is the error i get:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “shipping.py”, line 14, in
print(shipping_cost_ground(8.4))
File “shipping.py”, line 12, in shipping_cost_ground
return 20 + (price_per_pound * weight)
UnboundLocalError: local variable ‘price_per_pound’ referenced before assignment

someone please tell me what im doing wrong.

and this is my first week, please be kind.

thankyou my friends.

greets Danny from the netherlands

In your third elif and your else, you have used a colon : instead of an equals sign = to assign the value to price_per_pound. Hence if the weight falls into these blocks, like it does in your function call, price_per_pound will never be assigned and this will break the program. Changing these two : to = should solve the problem.

1 Like

Agreed with what @adamgaffney96 said, when I was doing this project I didn’t use function since I haven’t learned yet. But this is my code and got accepted into →

NOTE: Please don’t copy, I’m just sharing mine if you need. I have done it in a different way :grinning: .

Codecademy learn-python’s repo

1 Like

sorry man, i feel just like a idiot.

this did the trick, thankyou for helping me man.