Does the primary key get automatically assigned when inserting rows into a table?

Hey, so I’m a bit of a noob obviously, but there’s something that’s re-occurred across multiple exercises that’s been bothering me. (I’m doing the create a back end web app with JavaScript skill path.)
When inserting a row into a table, the primary key (id usually) is often never assigned! Is SQL built to assign a value to that automatically?
For example:

INSERT INTO Artist (name, date_of_birth, biography, is_currently_employed) VALUES ($name, $date_of_birth, $biography, $is_currently_employed)

when the table schema is

(id INTEGER NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY, name TEXT NOT NULL, date_of_birth TEXT NOT NULL, biography TEXT NOT NULL, is_currently_employed INTEGER NOT NULL DEFAULT 1)

(the ID was never assigned in the INSERT INTO statement, yet it is the primary key)
Would appreciate an answer as it would help my understanding of this language very well. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hello @bit3773680424 ,

I can say that in Oracle RDBMS you can automatically assign an id by setting up a sequence. Every time, you add a row to the table you would reference the sequence value. This would automatically increment every time you used it. I would imagine there would be a similar feature in other databases.

A quick search on CREATE SEQUENCE + dbms would give you some more details.

** Sequences and Auto-Incrementing (MySQL & mSQL)

3 Likes

Ah, so the same feature would likely be implemented in the sqlite3 JS library. Thanks! This helps!

Hey, thanks for the reply. I guess SQLite doesn’t have that type of feature.

You would have to do it manually sql - How can I use sequences in SQLite? - Stack Overflow. Hence the ‘lite’.

Hello,

As the column id in an INTEGER and a PRIMARY KEY, the value will be filled automatically with an unused integer (which will usually be one more than the largest existing ID).