Does the position of 'not' matter when negating statements (see examples below)?

Often in programming, we use ‘not’ BEFORE the condition we’d like to negate. For example:

if not 5 in range(x, y):
  return True
else:
  return False

would return True if x = 6 and y = 10 for instance.
Or, if we had x = 0 and y = 6 then it would return False. This is as we’d expect.

However, the code:

if 5 not in range(x, y):
  return True
else:
  return False

would also return the same values and this second articulation of the code seems much more readable.

So, does the position of the ‘not’ matter in cases like this? Are there any cases where it would? And if so, please give examples, because I’m not sure why conventional coding practises dictate that we should use the first articulation.

If it’s relevant, I am learning Python 3 and I’m still a beginner.

Yes, in Python 3, the logical switch must be placed between the two logical statements.

if (statement 1) (logical switch) (statement 2)

Where the logical switch can be a comparison, or an operator like and or not.

The reason ‘traditional coding practises’ dictate the former method is because many other languages like C++ and Java require that format. Python takes a different approach to formatting statements where it aims to be more human readable and easier to comprehend than its predecessors.

Oh, also, another thing: the full logical operator is not in. A not equal operator is actually !=, they are two different logical functions. One is used to check whether the two statements are equal (!=) while the other one is used to determine whether the first statement is not present within the second statement (ie, finding a letter in a string)

The result of this is False.

not operates on whatever is to the immediate right. Above we are not interested in 5 but rather its membership in the given range.

not (5 in range(x, y))

Now we evaluate not against the entire expression.

5 not in ...