Do I need to return grade, or are there other options?

Hi! I just started learning Python 3 and i have a question about ‘Else If Statements’ exercise 11:

Calvin Coolidge’s Cool College has noticed that students prefer to get letter grades over GPA numbers. They want you to write a function called grade_converter that converts an inputted GPA into the appropriate letter grade. Your function should be named grade_converter , take the input gpa , and convert the following GPAs:

• 4.0 or higher should return "A"
  • 3.0 or higher should return "B"
  • 2.0 or higher should return "C"
  • 1.0 or higher should return "D"
  • 0.0 or higher should return "F"

You should do this by creating a variable called grade that is first set to "F" .

Then, you should use elif statements to set grade to the appropriate letter grade for the gpa entered.

At the end of the function, return grade .

The last part suggests a certain way of doing it but i started with another method that seemed to work aswell. Are both alright or should i use either one?

method 1:

def grade_converter(gpa):
  if gpa>=4.0:
    return "A"
  elif gpa>=3.0:
    return "B"
  elif gpa>=2.0:
    return "C"
  elif gpa>=1.0:
    return "D"
  else:
    return "F"

Method 2:

grade="F"
  if gpa >=4.0:
    grade= "A"
  elif gpa >=3.0:
    grade= "B"
  elif gpa >=2.0:
    grade= "C"
  elif gpa >=1.0:
    grade= "D"
  else:
    grade= "F"
  return grade

I thought maybe both are correct but one is preferred whenever we encounter more complex codes, so for future laziness, hope someone can enlighten me:) Thank you! :hugs:

6 Likes

on the second method, after the “else”, i just wrote “return grade”. If nothing above is True, the value of grade is already “F”

1 Like

Good call. I had the same question as OP, but I guess your method saves a step. Thanks!

1 Like

As we can see, there are enough cases to satisfy the inputs without having to set grade at the start of the function. else: handles all the outside cases.