Codecademy Forums

Do I have to possess a special kind of intelligence to have a chance to become a programmer?

Hello,

it’s been a bit more than 4 months since I started learning programming from 0 here at Codecademy, not every day though and quite slowly, but I’m still here willing to continue. Recently I read on the Internet about the real-life 3-months beginner’s course on Python (which I’m learning at Codecademy) that was starting in late September here in my country. I’m thinking about applying to it because thought it was a great chance to find some new inspiration and meet people interested in the topic.

However, again I started questioning myself if I was actually talented enough for this. I might be wrong but to me it seems that programming requires a special kind of intelligence, a mind that operates very logically, and when i mention logic I don’t mean kind of a ‘‘life logic’’ where one is intelligent where he is simply rational and knows how to have a good and balanced life. Here by logic I rather mean having a machine-like mind. And honestly I’m not sure if I possess it.

I would be very happy to hear some appreciated opinions on this. Is one limited with lacking of talent and ‘‘mathematical’’ intelligence? How much in those cases could one overcome with hard work? Should he be overcoming anything at all if he’s not talented and just give up?

Thank you.