Day One

Good Morning,

For me, today is day one. I am a 44-year-old mother of four who adores working from home, but my present position pays a pitiful amount. Coding is my choice because it meets all of my criteria.
I’m not in a rush to learn, and this job offers better pay and allows me to work from home.
Because I am not tech savvy or familiar with computers, I feel a little overwhelmed. But I’m open to learning. I’m hoping I didn’t take on too much. In need of inspiration? Does anyone else begin the same as I do? My husband claims that I lack technical ability. Suggestions for success? Great place tro start?
I welcome all comments and suggestions.

1 Like

Welcome to the forums.

First, I would recommend searching in this particular category as there are other similar stories from people that might resonate with you. There’s a wealth of great advice too from people who are at different points in their learning and careers.

Second, and more importantly & specifically, and no offense to your husband, but don’t listen to him or anyone else who is quick to criticize you and your supposed ‘lack of technical ability.’
Thinking computationally is a learned skill. People come to programming from all sorts of backgrounds; it’s not uncommon to have zero programming experience. Learning a new (or several) programming languages is similar to learning a foreign language. Would one expect to know how to conjugate verbs in French w/o first reading material or taking a course? No. Same goes for programming languages. It takes practice, repetition, and time. Are you going to get frustrated? Yep (as anyone else would and has). But you keep learning and adding to your skill set.