Day in the Life: Zoe Bachman, Curriculum Product Manager

This month, we’re featuring Zoe, a curriculum product manager at Codecademy.

Tell us a little about yourself.

:wave: Hi! I’m Zoe Bachman and I currently work as a Curriculum Product Manager here at Codecademy. I’ve been with Codecademy for over three years now, starting off as a Curriculum Developer writing content. I’ve touched a lot of different content over the years, like Learn HTML, Data Visualization with Python, Learn C#, and Learn How to Code (I like to call the one my brain baby). I currently live in Brooklyn, NY and spend my free time hanging out with friends at Prospect Park, reading longform articles, doing puzzles, and cuddling my cat, Nono. In my prior life, I was an art teacher and I’m currently part of two art collectives: tendernet and The Illuminator.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

I was finishing up my Masters Degree at NYU’s Interactive Telecommunications Program when I got an email from a Codecademy recruiter asking if I wanted to apply for the Curriculum Developer position. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect - I was right about to publicly present my thesis (like, two hours away) and in the midst of figuring out my next steps. The interview process moved really quickly and in a couple weeks I joined the team!

Did you always want to be a Curriculum Product Manager?

Given that I made up the role myself, not really, haha. I’ve had a lot of different career goals in my life (including, at one point, being the female version of Indiana Jones). What I will say is that as soon as I started working at Codecademy, I became interested in the product side of things. Having gone to a graduate program that focused on invention, early on I wanted to start pushing the boundaries of what our Curriculum content and experience could be.