Day in the Life: Aaron Robb, Codecademy Senior Software Engineer

Aaaand we’re back with another episode of a Day in the Life! This month, we’re featuring Aaron Robb, who is a senior software engineer at Codecademy. He’s a self-taught developer and has taken a lot of winding roads to get where he is today, but he shows up no worse for the wear! He’s got some short & sweet advice for y’all so be sure to read on until the end! Cheers.

Meet Aaron! :cowboy_hat_face:

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a front end engineer who primarily works on Codecademy’s design system Gamut. I have run into more CSS bugs than anyone should have to in a natural lifetime.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

I think it’s a similar story for most people at Codecademy, I had used it earlier in my career. When I first started out it was one of the only sites around for learning to code, and maybe the only one that had a learning environment. It was probably the first thing I used to learn basic concepts, and over time I ran out of content and was learning on the job a bit more. You know, a classic story. Fast forward a handful of years and I’m in the market for a new job, and lo’ and behold. Codecademy was hiring. I jumped at the chance to help others on a similar journey to mine, and be around people who wanted to do the same.

Did you always want to be a Senior Software Engineer?

Nope, I first wanted to be a pilot then, after that dream came back to earth, a historian, but I left that in the past. To be honest, I never thought I had any technical aptitude, even after a few years of programming professionally. I kept waiting for the day a real engineer would show up and out me as a fraud. Still do sometimes.

What are the best aspects about working as a Senior Software Engineer?