Data Science Independent project: predict outcome of production

Hello

I finished machine learning courses here on codecademy and now would like to pursue my own projects. I am still very new to this so I thought at first I would ask for advice before starting coding and making wrong conclusions due to mistakes in code.

Problem I want to solve is regarding production. A line is producing different products during the shift. Up to even 30 different products from the same raw material. Products are only made when order is present. Once order is fulfilled the product is stopped and raw material is used for other products. Principle in production is to use the material so that minimum amount of raw material is going to waste. Raw material is natural and has different defects, some products allow more defects, some less. These principles dictate which products are produced in higher quantities and which are rarer. For example if there is no order for top quality products, medium quality products will be produced in higher quantities becuase the material will fall to these qualities because there is no top quality order and so on. So the amount of different products and products themselves vary over time. I have 3 months worth of production data. Data consists of date, products names, which were produced on that day and how much of each product was produced. What I would like is to put this data in a model, then say that now I have orders on these products to this amount, please tell me how many days does it take to finish each product.

I am thinking that i would have to train a model on the existing data and say that on this day these products were produced in this amount.