Curious about notifications in the editor

A lot of times when doing the exercises, i'll write my code, and it will run fine, but in the editor i get red dot notifications. I'll give you an example

var hungerLevel= 10;
if (hungerLevel>7) {
  console.log("Time to eat!");
} 
else { (hungerLevel<7)
  console.log("Lets eat later");
     }

Now, on line 5, the beginning of the else i have a red dot notification that reads "expected an assignment or function call and instead saw an expression" "missing semicolon"

Now i'm just starting out so I certainly don't know the finer points of coding JS. What i'm wondering is the significance of it here, is my code sloppy? What needs to be done?

I remember in the HTML course that sometimes the editor will basically still run code sometimes even if it isn't written exactly right, Is that the case here?

I want to make sure I'm doing things as correctly as possible. Thank you for any insight anyone can offer me.

`

More on Control Flow in JS - 11 - And
Control Flow Question

And that's great, and also the reason why the red dot appears.

Say you're typing console.log("Time to eat!") ... and you've forgotten the semicolon. You'll get a red dot there.
The red dot just signals hey careful pal, you've forgotten something, check it out. It's there to help you.

It's easy to make silly mistakes in JS. ■■■■ some people categorized it the worst language as it will let you do things that simply don't make any sense whatsoever, but let you get away with it. Doesn't mean it's right though.

So, learn best practices from the start, mind the red dot, and get familiar with the syntax. By the end of the course you should be alright and ready to move towards deeper waters.

Edit: funny that my word up there got redacted. The word was the opposite of heaven. How random.

var moonPhase= "full";
if (moonPhase === "full") {
  console.log("Howwwlll!!");
}
else { (moonPhase !== "full");
      console.log("I swear I am not a werewolf...");
     }