CSS won't link to HTML

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to HTML and CSS and my CSS link in my HTML syntax doesn’t seem to work. Here’s what I’ve tried: <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="20171204 Homepage.css"/>

This is what I have so far of the stylesheet(not much):

.start {
	text-align: center;
	background-image: url("https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2016/11/19/16/48/notebook-1840276_960_720.jpg");
}

I’ve tried seeing what was wrong with it, but I’m quite sure I’m doing everything right. If someone could please explain to me the issue, that would be great.

I’ve tried entering this syntax into an online editor, and it appears to work. I am starting to think this is due to some software or browser issue.

The HTML and CSS stylesheet is in the same folder.

Best regards.

Whitespace in URLs forces the browser/server to encode with %20, and that support might not always be available. Never write spaces in resource names bound for a network.

href="20171204_homepage.css"

Notice also no uppercase. This helps prevent errors.

Personally, I would never include a date in a URI unless it was a backup on the server.

href="homepage.css"

The backup would look like,

homepage_171204.css

All your pages would be calling the same file, without any knowledge of when they are last edited. That is a human concern, not a general one and should not be reflected in pages or you will be editing HTML needlessly.

1 Like

Thank you. I followed your suggestion for editing the file name, but the problem persists. Is there still anything wrong?

You should also provide your html here.

Did you change the name of your CSS file to match the link?

1 Like

Yes. Here is the CSS link now: <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="20171204_homepage.css"/>

Complete HTML:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
	<head>
		<title>The Hub - Home Page</title>
		<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="20171204_homepage.css"/>
	</head>
	<body>
		<div class="start">
			<h1>The Hub</h1>