Credit Card Checker Troubles

Hello!

I am new to programming and Javascript, so I apologize if I’m asking something completely obvious here.

The first part of the Credit Card Checker project asks you to create a function that determines if a credit card is valid or invalid using the Luhn algorithm . Here is what I came up with:

// Add your functions below:

const validateCred = creditCard => {
  let reversedArray = creditCard.reverse();
  let newArray = [];
  for (let i = 1; i < reversedArray; i = i + 2) {
   let value = i * 2;   
    if (value > 9) {
      newArray.push(value - 9);
    } else {
      newArray.push(value);
    }
   let sum = newArray.reduce((acc, item) => {
     return acc + item}, 0);
    if (sum % 10 === 0) {
    console.log('Creditcard is valid')
    } else {
    console.log('Creditcard is invalid')
    }
   }  
  }

When I try to log the function with one of the given arrays it comes back as undefined. Thanks in advance for any assistance!

link to the project: https://www.codecademy.com/practice/projects/credit-card-checker

If you make a simpler function, say, one that adds two numbers together, how would you get the result back from that?
You’d for example want to be able to do:

add(3, add(4, 5)) to obtain 12

Also, I suggest adjusting your indentation so that it matches your braces, otherwise it will be visually misleading. Usually text editors help you keep it this way at all times.

Thanks for the reply!

Are you referring to return? I tried adding it like such earlier in my troubleshoot, I’ve just been adding and removing code trying to make it work:

return.console.log('Creditcard is valid')
    } else {
    return.console.log('Creditcard is invalid')

The above still returns undefined. I also tried putting it before:

if (value > 9) {
     return newArray.push(value - 9);
    } else {
     return newArray.push(value);
    }

I assume I’m using return in the wrong place?

When you say: