Creating a list of tuples from a list of tuples

Hi,

I am new to the Data Scientist career path, at 21%.

I have a list of tuples with 2 different objects. One object is a number value and the other is “yes”/“no” value. How would I go about creating a separate list with only the “no” values along with the associated number values, and another list with the “yes” values and it’s associated values? For ex: My dataset is the following:
records= [(17085.2676, ‘yes’), (17128.42608, ‘no’), (17178.6824, ‘yes’), (17179.522, ‘yes’), (17352.6803, ‘no’)]

If y = “yes”, I’d like a list with (values, yes) datapoints.
If y= “no”, I’d like a list with (values, no) datapoints.

Ultimately I’d like to find the average of the numbers in all the “yes” datasets and the average of the numbers in all the “no” datasets. I suppose this can also be done without separating the records list I have, but I figure that may be a little more advance.

Any guidance is appreciated it. As a reference, My lessons so far include loops, dictionaries, functions, lists, strings, classes.

1 Like

If you were going to perform your stated task yourself, how would you do it with pen and paper? Would you write down 2 separate lists, one with just the no’s and one with the yes’s? Would you instead, just use a calculator, and add up the no’s, then calculate the average followed by doing the same with the yes’s? You would probably do the later. You can do the same with code. Consider how you could iterate through the list of tuples, and accumulate the values for no’s and the values for yes’s. Keep in mind that the elements of a tuple can be accessed by their index, or they can be unpacked:
a, b = (5, 'no').

Example that may help you get started (if needed):
# apples and oranges
bags = [(15, 'a'), (22, 'o'), (26, 'a'), (15, 'a'), (7, 'o'), (19, 'o'), (3, 'o'), (11, 'a')]

apples = 0
oranges = 0

for bag in bags:
    n, f = bag
    if f == 'a':
        apples += n
    else:
        oranges += n