Confusion

Hey Everyone!

I’m still a bit of a noob here, so please bare with me.

A little about myself:
My professional history is in the military and accounting/finance, and I have a degree in Religious Philosophy.
I’ve always had a creative streak, and now at 35 I’m trying to figure out a career path that will help me feel more fulfilled.
Initially, I thought Web Dev made the most sense. I have an eye for detail and I love to create. BUT, recently, a friend of mine in the industry suggested I get my foot in the door via UX Design. I don’t really know what to think. I’m not a designer by any means…I’m just a nerd with a photoshop and camera habit.

Does anyone have any insight or advice?

Ben

Honestly, that’s not good advice. UX and web development are related, but at the same time they’re completely different.

UI\UX (User Interface\User Experience)
These people do 2 things:

1. Make things pretty -> you need very good skills in photoshop or whatever tool allows you to make\edit graphics. A lot of designers use existing generic assets and modify them, but good designers build their assets based on the application. You also need to build schematics to present the design (pictures alone won’t do it). The big unmentioned factor here is that you need to have “taste”, basically your design needs to be pleasing to the eye, what colors go with what, how do they relate to the company and the marketing strategy (you also need to provide assets to marketing).

2. Design the user experience -> given an action to perform, what does the end user need to do to perform it. What to click on, how things are presented, how a process flows, how to handle errors. You have to anticipate how an end user will use the application and provide the best experience possible. Pro tip: the end user will always do something you don’t expect, how does the application manage that?