Confusing syntax issue with "Raceday Project" in introduction to javascript

Hello, I’m new to Javascript and coding in general. I’ve encountered a strange syntax error, and I was hoping someone could help me understand what I did wrong. When I run the code below, I get:

/home/ccuser/workspace/learn-javascript-U2P2/main.js:17
} else (runnerAge === 18) {
^
SyntaxError: Unexpected token {

From the “Raceday Project” https://www.codecademy.com/courses/introduction-to-javascript/projects/race-day

I’m not sure what the issue is, so I assume I’m blind, illiterate, or just not knowledgeable enough about javascript formatting. The error points to the bracket for the block, but what’s the actual issue? Doesn’t the logic need the bloc to know what is being output from the else statement? It’s very confusing. I can “fix” it, by adding an If after the else, then it outputs in the console perfectly fine, but that doesn’t make sense with the previous lessons on conditionals. I couldn’t find this specific error mentioned anywhere on the forums, so I would appreciate any assistance. Also I hope I formatted this appropriately.

[codebyte language=javascript]
let raceNumber = Math.floor(Math.random() * 1000);

let registeredEarly = true

let runnerAge = 19

if (registeredEarly === true && runnerAge >= 18) {
  raceNumber += 1000
}

if (registeredEarly === true && runnerAge > 18) {
  console.log(`Runner number ${raceNumber} will race at 9:30 A.M.`);
} else if (registeredEarly ==! true && runnerAge > 18) {
  console.log(`Runner number ${raceNumber} will race at 11:00 A.M.`);
} else if (runnerAge < 18) {
  console.log(`Runner number ${raceNumber} will race at 12:30 P.M.`);
  console.log(`Runner number ${raceNumber}, please report to the registration desk.`);
}

// ignore the below conditionals, it's for testing.
/*if(runnerAge === 18) {
  console.log('yes');
} else (runnerAge !== 18) {
  console.log('no');
}

let sale = true;

sale = false;

if(sale) {
  console.log('Time to buy!');