Conflict about how to learn programming

I am into my 2nd week of my apprenticeship as a full-stack developer. Unfortunately, the problem is that my trainer (colleague) and I have very much ideological differences in how one should brush up his/her programming skills.

Just a little bit of background: I am currently an apprentice (Azubi in German) in Germany. An apprenticeship is called Ausbildung here. In general, an Azubi is not expected to possess a professional coding skill to start an Ausbildung in the IT development. Ausbildung in Germany is lower academic qualification than university degrees in here.

So what exactly is the problem? My colleague who trains Azubis asked me some basic questions like "what is the function of static" “what are the differences between three different variables in Java”. I spectacularly failed to answer all of them correctly, even though I finished Codecademy courses in these topics.

I do NOT intend to diss Codecademy, it is all my fault to forget the basics.

Anyway, my trainer-colleague wants me to go over some of the “Java basics” again and asked me to create a basic ArrayList to play around. He said “playing around helped me learn the basics at my uni and I found it exciting.” I never enjoyed this kind of exercise and I rather prefer to learn all the things alongside I build out some projects.

I feel down right now and my motivation is so low. Do you agree with my colleague or any advice for keeping my spirit up?

1 Like

Learning and re-learning is the name of the game. You’ll always forget something, everyone does. If you learnt it once the next time will likely be faster. Treat it more like any regular language where repetition and active usage are necessary to cement certain things in your mind; @toastedpitabread recently posed a useful quote from the immortal von Neumann-