Conditional statements syntax within python

Ok, I have a question for setting up conditional statements. Lets say I want to test an input from the user against the following conditions (hypothetical):

if input is >= 10
return or print this
elif input is < 10 and >= 5
return or print this
elif input is < 5
return or print this

I get the >= and < and how to set those up. However, it is the setting up the conditions in between the them that I want to set up. I tried to do "<10 and >=5" and it wouldn't function because of how the and function works. Do I actually have to do like one of the lessons and set it up as follows:

if input is >= 10
" "
elif input is >= 5
" "
elif input is < 5
" "

or can it be set up differently? Whenever I think about conditional statements, I generally think of the first example, at least that is how it is set up in other subjects. I am new to the python language and is just a little confusing.

if you want to do it that way, you would have to do
elif input < 10 and input >= 5:
but there's an easier way.
You can just say
elif input >= 5:
because if it's NOT less than ten, then it will fall into the if statements condition. It can only match one of the conditions, (if, elif, else, etc), so whichever one it matches first is what it will act on.
I hope this makes some kind of sense.
Also, the statements shouldn't have the word "is" in them.

Personally, how I would go about writing this is:

if input >= 10:
    #do something
elif input >= 5:
    #do something
else:
    #do something

The reason I would say use else in this case rather than another elif is because input being less than 5 is the only other option, so else covers it.
Also remember that else cannot have a condition, because I know that I've forgotten that and I've seen other people forget as well.

Some more notes you may find interesting:
This isn't exactly an answer to your question, but it involves taking the input, and returning things based on the range of it.