Completion of Learn Python 3 course - General question

Hello there,

Perhaps a bit of an odd question, but I decided to go ahead and post it anyway: I’m new to Python and currently doing the Learn Python 3 course. In the course description, it says ‘25 hours to complete in total’. I’m just wondering if that’s the estimated time it should take someone to complete the course, or the amount of time in lectures/projects, etc.

My thoughts are, I have been doing the course for a week (full-time) now, and seeing the 25 hours always makes me question whether I’m being too slow/doing something wrong.

I am taking notes as I go, but I still think I spend the most time doing the exercises and sometimes stare at 4 lines of code for an hour.

Could anyone else share their experience? :slight_smile:

Many thanks in advance!

This type of question actually pops up every once in awhile. The time posted on the courses is just an estimation, and in reality I don’t think you should worry about it too much.

I don’t believe you should worry about going to slow as long as you are learning, and certainly don’t rush yourself. When I first started I tried to go as fast as I could and ended up not really learning, so by the later lessons I couldn’t understand what was being asked of me and had to review a good portion of the course.
When you get to a point when you are stuck on the code, that is often a good time to take a break and refresh yourself. Often if I’m trying to do something and can’t quiet figure out how to do it, I’ll get my mind off of it for a half hour or so and revisit it later.

Again my main point though is to take your time learning and not worry about how fast your going, as long as you are learning. :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes