Coffee Bot python challenge problem

Hello,
I am doing the coffee bot challenge in python (https://www.codecademy.com/paths/build-chatbots-with-python/tracks/introduction-to-python-and-chatbots/modules/chatbot-evolution-and-dialog-trees/projects/coffee-chatbot) and i am stuck. I am just a beginner and i need help. I’ve written the following code but when i run it, i get the following error:
How can i fix this please help
My code:

Define your functions

def coffee_bot():

print(“Welcome to the cafe!”)

size = get_size()

print(size)

def get_size():

res = input('What size drink can I get for you? \n[a] Small \n[b] Medium \n[c] Large \n> ')

if(res==‘a’):

return 'small'

elif(res==‘b’):

return 'medium'

elif(res==‘c’):

return 'large'

else:

return get_size()

Call coffee_bot()!

coffee_bot()

Error/Output message:

Welcome to the cafe!
What size drink can I get for you?
[a] Small
[b] Medium
[c] Large

a
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “script.py”, line 20, in
coffee_bot()
File “script.py”, line 4, in coffee_bot
size = get_size()
File “script.py”, line 8, in get_size
res = input('What size drink can I get for you? \n[a] Small \n[b] Medium \n[c] Large \n> ')
File “”, line 1, in
NameError: name ‘a’ is not defined

Hi,

I believe the problem is just that you are using the wrong quote marks within the if statements.

if(res==‘a’):

You should be using " or ’ instead.

if(res=="a"):

Then your code works fine for me.

Hope that helps!

the line size = get_size() is giving you an error
because
you called the function get_size before you defined it

Putting the function decalration for get_size() before the function declaration for coffee_bot() should fix that problem.

(Python is one of the languages where you have to declare a function before you call it.)

1 Like

This does not work! Despite putting my get_size() function above the coffee_bot() function it still throws the same error

Did not work. In python aren’t both “” and ‘’ considered as strings