Coding software

Hey all. I’ve been learning coding here for a while and I’m thinking that I’m ready to go out on my own and start trying to code my own stuff, but I want to do it with the kind of software that I’m used to using here on the site. Specifically, I want to be able to code and see the result in real time, like what happens when I do the exercises. What kind of software do I need to do this from my desktop? Can I get any recommendations on what software is best?

Im still learning aswell i guess we all are, but i use visual code studio and to run php i use xammp :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’ve downloaded Visual Code Studio but I cannot figure out how to view my results like the OP asked. Am I missing something here?

you need to see if VScode has a plugin which can refresh the page for you

or do you want a live preview within VScode? These things are editor dependent, you need to check if such a thing exist for the editor/IDE you use

Thank you for your response. I was looking for an editor with a live preview, it sounded like this app offered that but perhaps not. Do you have a recommendation one and editor with this feature?

what app? VScode?

coming from codecademy, i understand why you want this feature, yet i would advise against it. I would use your browser (firefox, chrome, something else) and learn to use debug tools browsers offer.

if anything, look for something that monitors your files and refreshes the browser for you, if you really want that

Hi, I think what you are looking for is CodePen. Maybe there are other options out there, but give it a try and let us know how that works for you. Happy coding!

There’s a section in the computer science path that shows you how to do it in the terminal. It was very insightful. I would also like to know what actual developers prefer. Do you use an IDE or just a terminal?