Coding Path Questions?

Hello there,

I am relatively new to programming using Codecademy. I am highly interested in wanting to work in a couple of different areas of coding. I am interested in making apps, websites and games. I just recently started with python and am currently at the loops section in my studies. With all this said, am I on the right track with python being my first language?

Thank you for you time and help.

TBH, it’s as good a place to start as any. The language is very straight forward, with easy to learn syntax. It has a great collection of built-in functions and can cover many disciplines, science, maths, information, data, &c. The main thing is to focus on learning all the basics: data structures, algorithms, logic, while acquiring skills with each concept and built-in.

Keep an open mind and don’t try to do something big and complicated. Write simple programs to perform one task and study how to refactor and improve as you go. It all takes time, so set aside lots of it on a regular basis. Do routine review and practice, and experiment until the cows come home. Be sure to keep the documentation close at hand, always, and read it thoroughly for each new concept or built-in. Most of all, don’t try to hurry or jump ahead. Steady as you go…

Great advice!

Thank you so much for your help with this. I feel pretty good with a lot of the concepts I have been learning. There has been challenges as to be expected. Loops that are comprehensible have an interesting syntax to comprehend and is a little bit confusing but I am working through it as best as I can. Lately, I have been trying to alter some of the code during the exercises and it has been helping with practicing the topic at hand which has been helpful.

A few questions maybe you can help me with if you don’t mind.
1.) I know we have an editor built into codecademy which is great. What editor would you suggest to use if I wanted to work on creating my own code?