Codecademy Pro, Student Discount

Dear Community and Codecademy,

My name is Will, and I am a middle school student currently enrolled at Postlewait Middle and Ceasar Rodney High School in Delaware. As a member of the Technology Student Association, I would like to learn how to code in depth. Although I have looked a other free options to learn, I originally started with Codecademy when it was still 100% free and became accustomed and somewhat attached to the way Codecademy teaches. However, although my family is not financially challenged, I don’t feel that I can pay $20.00 a month for Codecademy. I am not suggesting that learning to code with this amazing program is not worth it and should be free, although that would be nice, but I do think that there should be a discount. I was hoping that a Codecademy employee would read this and possibly be able to add a student discount to bring the price down, for students, to (in my mind) around $5.00 a month.

Thank you for you attention,
Will
An aspiring coder.

15 Likes

Hello,

Codecademy doesn’t give out discounts, however all the lessons are FREE to access, only the following is pro:

• Help from advisors
  • Quizzes
  • Projects

If you want to get in touch to a CC employer you can visit help section:

http://help.codecademy.com/

For those who cannot afford it,

You can get help here on Codecademy forums,
You can challenge yourself with your own projects.

2 Likes

To anyone at CodeCademy who wants your company to make more money - You’re shooting yourself in the foot.

http://www.amosweb.com/cgi-bin/awb_nav.pl?s=wpd&c=dsp&k=third-degree+price+discrimination

You should seriously be applying third degree price discrimination to your pricing model so kids like Will here can get you more profit, and Will can consume a product/service which can’t cost you more on a marginal basis of 1 more paid user.

12 Likes