Code readability and Fibonacci

Hi all
Two questions regarding :
RECURSION VS. ITERATION - CODING THROWDOWN

When Fibs Are Good

One , in calculations for fibonacci when we ask for a 3rd number in sequence we actually return the 4th one in the set. Why is that i think i don’t understand something.
for fibonacci(3) the list is [0, 1, 1, 2] and we return [2] but it’s the fourth element .

Secondly I only started learning but I have read in multiple places how important code readability is and I think the recommended way of solving this exercise is unnecessarily complicated especially for beginners.

Is there any advantage to that way over my way ?

Code :

#readable
def xfibonacci(n):

result = 0
  first = 0 
  second = 1

for i in range(n-1):
    result = first + second
    first = second
    second = result
    print(result)
  return result

#codecademy suggested 
def fibonacci(n):
  fibs = [0, 1]
  if n <= len(fibs) - 1:
    return fibs[n]
  else:
    idx = 2
    while n > len(fibs) - 1 :
      nx = fibs[idx - 1] + fibs [idx - 2]
      fibs.append(nx)
      idx += 1
  print (fibs)
  print(fibs[n])
  return fibs[n]

# test cases
print(fibonacci(3) == 2)
print(fibonacci(7) == 13)
print(fibonacci(0) == 0)
2 Likes

this is because in arrays we start counting from 0. this means if you want the fourth element in a array. you count 0,1,2,3. so 3 would be the fourth element.

1 Like

The diffrence is the efficience of the code. Sometimes you want something rather to be efficient than readable. A slow program is still slow even if its readable after all.

Here is youre code with a time test in it. if you run it you will see the function from codecadamy is faster.

import time

#readable
def xfibonacci(n):

result = 0
  first = 0 
  second = 1

for i in range(n-1):
    result = first + second
    first = second
    second = result
  return result

#codecademy suggested 
def fibonacci(n):
  fibs = [0, 1]
  if n <= len(fibs) - 1:
    return fibs[n]
  else:
    idx = 2