Code Question on Python Project Thread Shed

Hello! I am new to coding and am currently doing the Computer Science career path. I am on the project “Thread Shed” and my output is not showing up the way I have wanted it too. I have watched the walkthrough on the project and even though it seems like I am doing the exact same thing, it always comes out different. My current code through step 7 is:

daily_sales_replaced = daily_sales.replace(';,;', '.')
daily_transactions = daily_sales_replaced.split(',')
#print(daily_transactions)
daily_transactions_split = []

for sale in daily_transactions:
  daily_transactions_split.append(sale.split('.'))

#print(daily_transactions_split)

transactions_clean = []

for transaction in daily_transactions_split:
  transaction_clean = []
  for data_point in transaction:
    transactions_clean.append(data_point.strip(" "))
    transactions_clean.append(transaction_clean)
print(transactions_clean)

It is supposed to come out as ex: [‘Myrtle Morris \n’, ‘$22.66’, ‘green&white&blue’, ‘09/15/17’]
but it is coming out as, ex: ‘Myrtle Morris \n’, , ‘$22’, , ‘66’, , ‘green&white&blue’, , ‘09/15/17’,
I don’t really have much idea what is going on here, so any help solving this problem would be appreciated! Thanks!

Hello @willwithawill, welcome to the forums! Could you post a link to this exercise? What may be the problem is that you’re splitting the string at every , but you’re replacing the ;,; with a full stop (.). Should this be a comma?
I hope this helps!
P.S. I’ve moved this thread into Get Help >> Python.

Edit: This does not apply to the error in any way, but I just thought I’d let you know, if you didn’t already, that the .split() method’s default parameter is whitespace, so if you wanted to strip whitespace from a string, you could just have object.split(). The way you do it is perfectly valid, I just thought I’d say it.