Code Etiquette Course

I’m new to code and self-taught. One thing that I’ve noticed is that there are some inconsistencies with the code format, which I find confusing. Sometimes a semi-colon is used after a function or property, but then at times it’s not. Then sometimes the next line is indented by a few spaces and others it’s tabbed. Also, where do spaces have to be? Sometimes there are spaces between characters and at other times, there aren’t.

What’s the proper format? Does it make a difference which language we’re using? For instance, in CSS we have to put a semi-colon after each property/value to show that it’s the end, but in JavaScript after a while, for or if/else loop there’s no semi-colon? I’ve noticed sometimes the lessons have loops end with a semi-colon and at other times it doesn't.

A course with clear and consistent standards would be helpful.

When to use semi-colons is always a tricky one, and depends on the language you are using, css you should always use semi-colon. There is a old question the codecademy forum (link) which tells you when to use semi-colons in JS.

Spaces is in most cases for better readability, but you can take it for, certain things you can't split:

height: 50 px;

50px is one argument, this can't have a space. Using tabs/spacing in the beginning is so far i know in most cases a programmers preference

Thanks for the link. It was helpful.

I still have questions about the formatting and believe a course explaining the formatting differences between languages and why they exist would help. There are some formatting specifics that are unclear. Moreover, knowing when and why something is formatted a certain way and in a
particular language is useful info.

As an alternative to a new course, maybe add a section to each language course about any aspects of formatting that are must-knows and/or best practices.