Checking if a number of options are true

I am trying to check if user input is equal to a number of options. I have never done this before. I had a look online and decided to use the any[] function. My code for what I am trying to do is below.

commands = str(input(“Please choose either to PLAY or read the RULES\n”))
while str(commands) == any[“PLAY”, “Play”, “play”]:
break

I also then have an if and else statement.

if str(commands) == any[“RULES”, “Rules”, “rules”, “RULE”, “Rule”, “rule”]:
print(rules which I have written out)
else:
print(“Sorry that command wasn’t recognised. Please try again.”)
print(commands)
break

My main issue is trying to check for multiple user inputs, but I am not sure if I have structured the while loop well. Full loop below.

commands = str(input(“Please choose either to PLAY or read the RULES\n”))
while str(commands) == any[“PLAY”, “Play”, “play”]:
break
if str(commands) == any[“RULES”, “Rules”, “rules”, “RULE”, “Rule”, “rule”]:
print(""“These are the rules to the game etc.”"")
enter = input(“Press enter to continue\nEnter…”)
break
else:
print(“Sorry that command wasn’t recognised. Please try again.”)
print(commands)
break

CodeAcademy doesn’t seem to add indentation. I have actually indented :joy:

any() is a function call, so why do you use square brackets?

The truth is you don’t want to get in the business of relying on a user for text input. Think about the number of ways you could misspell/capitalize/mutate San Francisco. A limitless amount.
It’s always going to be hard to get the user to input the exact string you wanted.

Instead give them a menu that only lets them select a set of options (1-10, A-E etc etc)
Making that menu involves a bit of programming concepts you’ve seen
do/while loops nested if’s(switch in other languages)

When I first started, I tried implementing HUGE regexes to ‘solve’ the problem of user typos when typing out one choice of many cities.