Change the JS Function Tutorials

I am a beginner, so please excuse and correct any mistakes I have made.

When I first started learning JavaScript on Codecademy, I was confused by the syntax for defining functions.
var funcName = function (argList) { def; }
I thought, “Functions are not variables!” However, I recently learned about first-class functions, where a function can be assigned to a variable. I also searched up “JS Function Syntax,” and found out that they are defined like this:
function funcName(argList) { def; }
Why is Codecademy teaching first-class function assignment as a standard way to define functions to people who potentially may not have had prior exposure to functions, rather than the more basic way? If you’re going to teach the former way, at least explain first-class citizens, please!

Neither is a first-class functions, there is no such thing.

Functions are first-class citizens in JavaScript: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First-class_function

The main difference is that the second one is defined globally, which is often not desirable.
A second difference is that the second one will have its name attribute set to “funcName”, whereas the first gets "" as its name.

Edit: no, function declarations are not global, I was wrong.
Functions created with function declarations are hoisted, which means that JS reads the file and creates all declared functions before it starts executing the code in that scope. For example, this prints 5:

javascript
f();
function f() { console.log(5); }

Note that f is called earlier in the file than where the function is declared. This works because the declaration is read before executing the first line.
1 Like

I apologize for using the wrong terminology. Why is the Wikipedia article titled “First-Class function,” though, if first-class functions don’t exist?

Which version do tutorials and lessons usually teach? Should Codecademy explain anonymous functions in its JS function lessons?