Challenging Questions - need your help!

Hi!

I have been working on the Python challenge " Coffee Chatbot" and have a few questions. I am a very beginner at this!

1. In the example attached below, what does “res” stand for? I see that it’s frequently used?

2. how do I print to the terminal. I know it says “Write your code in the file called script.py and run it by entering python3 script.py in the terminal.” But when I do that it doesn’t print.
    See screenshot. What am I doing wrong?

3. In the sentence "Alright, that’s a {size}{drinktype}! Why are double {}{} necessary?

4. With the "name = input(“Can I get your name please? /n>”) What is the purpose of the /n> at the end? What does that stand for?
    I see it repeats a lot

5. .format(name)) … What does the .format do?(http://bit.ly/usecodecademyforumsbetter). That way you’ll be helping everyone – helping people to answer your question and helping others who are stuck to find the question and answer! :slight_smile:

1. Try to see if you can see where the variable res is defined and that should give you a clue. (eg: res = 1+1)

2. Entering python3 script.py in the terminal is telling python3 to run your python file: script.py. If you want to print to the terminal, in that script file you need to write a statement to print print(something) where something can be a variety of types (strings, integers, floats, objects).

Note, when you write a print statement, it’s location in the script matters, if it’s inside of a function, it will only run when that function is called.

1. This has to do with string formatting. The curly bracket act as placeholders for variables. It is a very handy tool for writing for debugging. Look up string formatting for more detailed information.

2. /n creates a new line. the / is an escape character which tells the compiler that the next character is going to be special and not printed.

3. see#3