Censor + general tips for better coding

Hello!

I was doing the Censor exercise. I had forgotten quite a lot of important commands (like list-making, join text, etc), and thus being unaware of them, and being too proud (or foolish?) to click on the hint, I decided to work it out the long way.

There is no problem with the code, in terms of results. But is it really something that should be satisfying? Do you have any tips on how I should study built-in commands, functions, etc, and how to optimize the coding? I'm a total beginner, with a completely different background, so... layman terms please? :smiley:

def censor(text,word):
    dummy_text = ""
    dummy_list = []
    new_word_start = 0
    number_of_words = 0
    for i in range(len(text)):
        dummy_dummy = ""
        dummy_end = text+"#"
        if new_word_start < len(text):
            for j in range(new_word_start,len(text)):
                if text[j] != " ":
                    dummy_dummy += text[j]
                else:                
                    new_word_start = j+1
                    number_of_words += 1
                    print new_word_start
                    break

dummy_list.append(str(dummy_dummy))

for i in range(len(dummy_list)):
        if dummy_list[i] == word:
            dummy_list[i] = "*" * len(word)
    dummy_list = dummy_list[0:number_of_words+1]
    final = ""
    for i in range(len(dummy_list)):
        final = final+" "+dummy_list[i]
    return final[1:]

print censor(raw_input("gimme text: "), raw_input("now gimme censor: "))

Is this how it would look in "real" code? No, it would be one line.

The exercise isn't about writing flawless code though, it's about coming up with and implementing an idea that has the desired effect.

I suggest focusing on the concepts, remember what is possible to do. If you need to do that something, google for the specifics.

Thanks for the reply :slight_smile: !