Censor dispenser

i wanted to replace a list with a code’x’ by using for
here is my code:
#first i am giving the string
string1=“HELLO everyone i am a beginner in codecademy.I am practising python. I wanted help with censor dispensership”
#now the list of words i want to replace it with
list=[‘everyone’,‘beginner’,‘codecademy’,‘python’,‘I’]
#now i define a function
def censor1(y):
b=string1.replace(y,‘x’ )
return b
for i in list:
censoremail1=censor1(i)
print(censoremail1)
#this function returns me by censoring only ‘I’ .Is there any other way to solve this kind of problems if so could plz type it.Thx for your help.And tell me where i went wrong

Hi @rishikeshupadhya7842 - welcome to the forum.

I’m not going to give you the solution outright, but I will nudge you in the right direction.

Firstly, I’ve made an assumption about what your code should look like. It helps, especially with Python, if you use the code </> icon to retain the formatting of your program. Otherwise, the forum removes all the whitespace and we don’t know how you’ve indented things like your for loop.

Anyway, this is what I think you wrote...
string1="HELLO everyone i am a beginner in codecademy.I am practising python. I wanted help with censor dispensership"
list=["everyone","beginner","codecademy","python","I"]
#now i define a function
def censor1(y):
    b=string1.replace(y,"x")
    return b
for i in list:
    censoremail1=censor1(i)
print(censoremail1)

The string.replace() method doesn’t change the string it’s acting on in situ, rather we need to assign a new variable to hold the new string with the appropriate replacements. You’re doing this in your code already: b=string1.replace(y,"x").

To figure out why your code isn’t behaving as intended, and only seemingly replacing I, ask yourself this:

Where are you keeping the updated value of string1 from each iteration of your for loop?

Hi All,

Having some trouble with this one as well, any help is appreciated as I’m lost. I’m on #3