Career Satisfaction and ease of access

Hey all,

Just started with Code Academy - I am currently working for an educational centre as the Head. I have decided to retrain in IT t see some sort of development when it comes to career prospects. Currently I work a lot for very little.

I was drawn to Data Science and felt it was an area where there was a skill shortage - that may have changed now. In addition, I have friends who suggest front end development, specifically focusing on areas such as React, as there will always be work there.

I suppose a question I wanted to ask was in relation to career satisfaction in the IT field, what IT careers have the most satisfied freelancers or employees?

In addition, what careers are more accessible to entry than others?

1 Like

Hey, beta

I feel you on retraining. I was a practicing Geologist a little over two years ago before pursuing a second bachelors in Information Science. As a currently employed applications developer I can tell you the bread is very satisfying. The stress can be overwhelming at times. I just try to make sure I keep a steady work / life balance.

One of the biggest challenges in this field is you’ll constantly feel like you’re behind. If you ever feel uncomfortable being out of your element, this is not the field for you. If the prospect of doing things daily that you have no experience with excites you, then you’ll enjoy it. The things that most forums and especially codecademy do not impress upon people who are just starting out is just how stressful this occupation can be.

Deployments can be very stressful and working as an engineer on 24/7 production support just plain sucks. I’m sure some companies are better than others, but if you’re working as an engineer, you will likely do regular on-call / production support rotations.