Career option: QA Engineer

Hello, my name is Pablo and I’ve completed courses for Ruby, JAVA, Javascript, SQL, Command Line, Building APIs from scratch, and currently doing Python. I’m a QA Engineer transitioning to Software Engineering Manager and I’m here to help out people as I can. Working on a couple of ideas to engage with the community and with Alyssa to set up some Q&A sessions.

After completing one of the courses, a lot of you ask: Now what?

Well, aside from being an app developer a good option is to be a QA Engineer. But what exactly does that mean? QA -> Quality Assurance

A QA Engineer should be part of any development team, they validate the requirements from the stakeholders and maintain the quality of the product. I say should be because a lot of companies don’t see the value in having a QA resource, and expect the developer to be responsible for the quality of their own code. To an extent, that statement is correct but a QA mindset is very different than a developer mindset.

Why? We find bugs in the code by testing the functionality, manually using the app.

How? Mostly by asking “what if I do this…”, we have inquisitive minds that don’t like to do as we’re told.

• Hey, can you test the login page?

• Sure.
    – use a good password
    – use a bad password
    – use a SQL statement instead of a username (anybody know little Bobby tables?)
    – use a Js script instead of a username

• Found a bug.

• Wait, what? How did you crash the system?

• Because you didn’t sanitize your db inputs.

Developers usually only do what they’re told, unless you give them very specific instructions they don’t ask the "what if’s. QA does.