Can't Get Jquery .Show to Execute More Than One Time

Hi all!

I’ve got a project I’m trying to create, where each time a key is pressed it shows an image for that letter.

For example, I press the letter “A” on my keyboard, and that shows an image of an “A” on my screen each time the key is pressed.

I found some code to do that, but I don’t know how to get a function like .show to fire more than once. I guess that wouldn’t really be possible come to think of it.

I know Jquery and Javacript a bit, but I’m still fairly new with those languages.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could go about this? The goal is to be able to show the images as they are typed, but also be able to delete them from the screen as the user deletes a letter from the input field.

I’m trying to replicate something like this…

This is the code I’m playing around with…

Hello, and welcome to the forums!

Instead of adding events for key presses and trying to manage backspaces, etc., what if you instead attach to the change event of the input box?

In that event handler, you could set the classes for each letter with a default of a class that doesn’t show anything. Maybe there would be a pre-determined number of elements already on the page ready to become letters. (That site you linked limits it to 15)
e.g.

<div id="letter-0" class="no-letter"></div>
<div id="letter-1" class="no-letter"></div>
<div id="letter-13" class="no-letter"></div>
<div id="letter-14" class="no-letter"></div>

Maybe the class “no-letter” could be styled to have a display of none so the element doesn’t take up space unless it’s changed to a different class. The change event handler that you write could iterate through each letter and set the class to either a letter or remove the letter:
e.g.

$('#letter-0').attr('class', 'letter-a');
// or to remove the letter
$('#yourIdSelector').attr('class', 'no-letter');