Codecademy Forums

Can't get a shamefully easy line of code to render right

I am very new to Codecademy and this week I started working on VS Code trying to write and style my first line of code.

I’ve literally juste done a basic html header and H1, but when I want to turn the background of my second

pink, it doesn’t render. Clearly I’m not linking my CSS and html code properly, but I after reviewing both, I really can’t find what I’m not doing right. I was following this project.

Can someone take pity on me and tell me what I’m doing wrong?

you have a typo in Resource (href attribute of <link> element)

3 Likes

Hey yeah, I attached the wrong screenshot. I’d actually found that typo and fixed it, but even with the fixed spelling it still did not render :slightly_frowning_face:

2 Likes

then you will need to upload the project (use git, google drive, dropbox, whatever you feel comfortable with). I don’t see any other obvious flaws

4 Likes

i need to be able to access the files/project, debugging this kind of issue from screenshots its really difficult, i respect anyone that can.

3 Likes

I’m new to this as well. So anyone can correct me if I’m wrong. Do you have to close a table? It appears the table closer, if needed, cant remember at the moment, needs a proper closer. < /t ab le > ?

4 Likes

Good observation, what is suppose to be the table closing tag is missing its /. Not sure that resolves the issue, it would be a lot easier to debug if we had the source code

5 Likes

My morning cup of Java hasn’t kicked in yet, but it looks like your HTML and CSS files weren’t linked correctly.

Filenames are case-sensitive. The compiler can’t find “Resources” folder because it doesn’t exist in the server, but it will find “resources”. Same goes for the subfolder “CSS”, which should be “css”. It’s a developer’s version of a 404 Error (“file not found”).