Can you give me some ideas on how to improve script?

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a nice life! :slight_smile:

So, I took over practicing/learning bash scripting (once again :D). I’m not very good at it and my knowledge is very basic. Last year I wrote a script to practice the use of if statements if something_happens then do this else do this what the script does/is about: cd to a dir, list files by extensions, if files with certain .ext exist, report they do, if they don’t, report so as well. I used ls Can you take a look at it and tell me how and where to improve? I’m sure there may be several ways to do it I just can’t figure it out by myself. FWIW, I’ve been reading and trying things but something’s always wrong. Here it is:

#!/bin/bash
#listar archivos en disco USB, Seagate.
#Creador: Moltke
#Octubre 2019
#El proposito principal es aprender a usar condicionales en un script.
#Algunas variables que hacen el script portable y reusable
Seagate="/media/moltke/Seagate"
linea_blanca="\e[1;37m ++++++++++++++++++++++++\e[0m"
echo -e “$linea_blanca”
if ( cd $Seagate && ls *.torrent &> /dev/null ); then
echo -e “\e[1;34m Archivos .torrent en Seagate:\e[0m”
else
echo -e “\e[1;31m Ningún archivo .torrent en Seagate!\e[0m”
fi

echo -e “$linea_blanca”
if ( cd $Seagate && ls *.mp3 &> /dev/null ); then
echo -e “\e[1;34m Archivos .mp3 en Seagate:\e[0m”
else
echo -e “\e[1;31m Ningún archivo .mp3 en Seagate!\e[0m”
fi

echo -e “$linea_blanca”
if ( cd $Seagate && ls *.txt &> /dev/null ); then
echo -e “\e[1;34m Archivos .txt en Seagate:\e[0m”
else
echo -e “\e[1;31m Ningún archivo .txt en Seagate!\e[0m”
fi

echo -e “$linea_blanca”
if ( cd $Seagate && ls *.png &> /dev/null ); then
echo -e “\e[1;34m Archivos de imagen en Seagate:\e[0m”
else
echo -e “\e[1;31m Ningun archivo de imagen en Seagate!\e[0m”
fi

echo -e “$linea_blanca”
if ( cd $Seagate && ls .m?? &> /dev/null ); then
echo -e “\e[1;34m Archivos de video en Seagate:\e[0m”
else