Can some one help me please?

I am new to the programming and I am getting familiar with python version 3.4.
I am not that good at math and I am struggling with a question and it goes like this:

Write a program that asks the user an integer ‘x’ and prints the value of y after evaluating the following:
y=x² - 12x+11

I don’t know how to do it and I certainly don’t the formula for it. I want to create a program for it in python 3.4. Can some one give me in depth explanation. Thanks in advance.

Hello, @corejumper08341!
The code is simple, you’ll see.
You’ll need to get the value of X from the user so a simple input for that will do the job.
Now to the most important part: the calculation.
If the same function, y, was given to you in real life, how would you do it?
How would you write it down?

The same way you’ll write it down in real life, you’ll do it in code but with a few changes:

y = x * x - 12 * x + 11

So let’s see: all you’ll need to do now is to write down the line above and print the value of y because the “=” is used to assign a certain value into something.
You can test, try the following:

print y #None because nothing was stored inside of this variable. y = x * x - 12 * x + 11 print y #Now you'll get a different result from None.
I’d suggest you to check the math library in Python, it will be really helpful for you!

Quote me if there’s anything else I can help you with!

Best regards,
g4be

Edit: mathematical operations in coding follow the rules we use while handling with that in real life.

I did it this way
x=10
xx-12x+11

but the correct answer should be -16
please tell me what I am doing wrong??

@corejumper08341: The value you used for the example gave the correct answer which is -9 but if the output must be -16, try it with x = 3, you’ll get the desired output.

If you want to find another specific value, simply use delta (Δ = b * b - 4 * a * c) and bhaskara (x1 = (-b + sqrt(Δ))/2a and x2 = (-b - sqrt(Δ))/2a ).