Can anybody help me with what's wrong with this code?

Hello,

I just started coding at code academy and it’s a blast. I’m having fun and learning with the PygLatin translator. But as of right now, there is something I don’t seem to understand with this particular piece of coding I have presented here.

At the first conditional statement, the ‘if’, there seems to be a problem. Without a boolean, the code seems to work fine, but when the boolean ‘or’ is introduced, the code always seems to put out the message ‘dude, be polite’.

Maybe it’s something really easy I just looked over, but it would be great if I understand the mistake.

Any help is appericiated!

yay = 'ay'

original = raw_input('Hey there, please type in a word and press enter: ')

if original == 'boring' or 'no':
  print 'dude, be polite'
elif len(original) > 0 and original.isalpha():
  word = original.lower()
  first = word[0]
  new_word = word + first + yay
  new_word = new_word[1:len(new_word)]

print new_word
else: print 'please try again'

First, remove all the embellishments and try again. Check the instructions and be sure you have followed them to the letter.

I have completed the assigments already, So I started to play around with it for learning purposes. Do you Maybe see What is wrong with the code?

Is all the input resulting in,

dude, be polite

?

Start with figuring that problem out.

This is read as:

(original == 'boring') or 'no'

not

original == ('boring or 'no')
Which by the way is equivalent to:
original == 'boring'

The lesson here being that nothing does what you want because you want it. You’d consider the exact behaviour of the thing you’re using, and leverage that, ensuring things are lined up to get the effect you’re after.

For the most part, you ought to be using and/or to combine two truths. Not text.

yes, all the input results in,

dude, be polite

I figured that the problem must lie with the or operator, because translator works properly when the code only says,