Calling randint() Mid Loop?

I’m working my way through Python and the Magic 8-Ball exercise. I wanted to use a second randint() function to extend the dialogue (if the 8 ball gives a bad answer then the person shakes it again and gets another answer).

I used a second variable random_number2 = random.randint(1,9) but then had to redefine all the Magic 8-Ball answers. Is there a way to call the generator again without using random_number2 and writing all the answers again?

https://www.codecademy.com/workspaces/6222f523bed11d26a36977b0

Precisely the reason lists and dictionaries were born. We can store all the answers in a list and then access one by random index, repeatedly if we wish.

1 Like

Hello Mr. mtf,

I am a python beginner and I am in the Data Analyst Path. We are so lucky to have someone like you around. I have learned a lot with your advise and codes.

Currently, I am in the Frida Kahlo project. I almost done. However, I have been having problems creating a function to add items to the Master List (Which has been zipped as indicated in the project).

The problem that I have been having is not creating the function itself but creating a condition where if the audio number and the name of the paint are already in the master list not too add them to the list. Please, could you please give me some advise on this. Below is my code.

Thank you.

paintings = [“The Two Fridas”, “My Dress Hangs Here”, “Tree of Hope”, “Self Portrait With Monkeys”]
dates = [1939, 1933, 1946, 1940]
paintings = list(zip(paintings, dates))
print(paintings)
paintings.append((“The Broken Column”, 1944))
paintings.append(("'The Wounded Deer", 1946))
paintings.append((“Me and My Doll”, 1937))
print(f"\n{paintings}")
#print(len(paintings))
audio_tour_numbers = list(range(1, 8))
print(audio_tour_numbers)
master_list = list(zip(audio_tour_numbers, paintings))
print(master_list)
master_list_final = master_list
def add_item_list(number, paint, date):