C# Conditional Statements Review Excercise

I’m studying C# and am currently working on the lessonConditional Statements. I tried one of the excercises they suggest at the end of the lesson. I chose the one saying: “Have a user guess a random number between 1-10 and lets them know if they got it correct, are too low, or are too high”.

Though my code runs without errors, it doesn’t work like expected. When you fill in a random number, say 2, while the set number is 7 (and thus the only correct answer), the system gives back that 2 is correct.

See my code below.

int number = 7;

Console.WriteLine("Raad een getal tussen 1 en 10");
  Convert.ToInt32(Console.ReadLine());

switch (number) {
  case 1:
    Console.WriteLine("Het goede getal is hoger.");           
      break;

case 2:
      break;

case 3:
      break;

case 4:
      break;

case 5:
      break;

case 6:
      break;

case 7:
    Console.WriteLine("Correct!");
      break;

default:
    Console.WriteLine("Het goede getal is lager.");
      break;

Hi and welcome to the Forum!

Take a closer look at your third line of code. You ask for an input of the user and convert it to an Int. What happens to the user input afterwards?

2 Likes

I’m not sure… I was told that any input is automatically treated as a string, so if you expect a number, you should convert it. But maybe I didn’t quite understand it? Still, if I delete Convert.ToInt32, the answer 2 is still correct, even though it shouldn’t be…

You are correct, that you have to convert it to an int, since you want to compare two numbers.

Your number variable stores 7.

In your switch block you check if different cases are true for your variable number.

Did number change in any way or is it still 7?
What do you think?

1 Like

I think I get it :blush: At least, now the outcome is as expected when I run the program!

switch (Convert.ToInt32(Console.ReadLine())) {
case 1:
Console.WriteLine(“Het goede getal is hoger.”);
break;

2 Likes