Broad question: What are the purposes of coding challenges?

Tl:Dr == I am struggling to solve the Computer Science career path unit 3 coding challenges for working with python lists. And I want to know if Its ok to move on, I am a total beginner usually interested in using consumer electronic technologies. And have difficulty in math.

I just started the Computer science career path in here, and so far I was breezing through first 3 sections. Until I reached “Unit 3” and Working with lists in python. I did mostly ok in the lesson, and the quiz was easy. Until I hit. the coding challenges of that section, the first was a bear and try as I might I could not figure out. In my mind I kinda had an idea about where to take my solution, but I could not vocalize it into python. My biggest problem was that the first problem for Challenge 1 asked me to use the append() function. But I didn’t realize from the lesson that I could do operations with the lists as the lesson seemed to suggest that .append() deal with only single entries. I eventually decided to look at the solution. And reading it made sense, and it kinda followed the general idea I had in my head.

The next problem I tried, my solution was not accepted by the system. I decided to write and test the function on VIM text editor. And I’ve not had as much luck with the others. I just want to move on. So what is the purposes of the challenges? To help teach problem solving skills? I am just starting this as a non technical computer usage. Basically my knowledge of computer skills was based on consumption. I tried working the other problems. But Idk, maybe programming is not for me. I still want to learn the syntax and learn python.