Before you start looking for a job

I’ve seen a lot of questions here about how to go about finding a job after completing a course, I wanted to share some thoughts based on my experience.

Why am I writing this? Because:

1. I’ve been where you’ve been, and I wish I knew this several years ago
  2. I interview people and decide if they join my team (I’m a Software Engineering Manager), so this is what I look for in candidates

Let’s get the most common question out of the way. Can I get a job after completing a Codecademy course? The answer is very simple. No, you can’t. Why?

1. You don’t have enough experience
  2. There are a lot of other things you need to learn that the course most likely doesn’t cover

You can get an internship, and maybe you’ll get paid a little. If you’re very very lucky, you might be able to get an entry-level job but the biggest factor is that the company has to be willing to teach you, groom you into a decent developer. Not a lot of companies are willing to do that because it’s expensive and it takes time. In case you didn’t know this already, all companies are under tight deadlines. All the time. So if they hire someone, they need that person to be productive immediately otherise they’re losing money. Nobody likes to lose money, so you need to be productive from day 1.

Bottom line, don’t count on finding a job after completing a course. So what do you do? You need experience with the following:

• Installing software