Basic Mortgage Calculator

Hi, I’m a respiratory therapist teaching myself how to code with Codecademy. I’ve created this mortgage calculator as part of my CS101 final project. I don’t know much about mortgages and I’m still a beginner with coding so this is a very simple program with just 3 parts. I’d appreciate any feedback from the community!

Step #1: I created a Mortgage class that uses information input by the user to perform 2 different methods (just two, for now). The attributes that every Mortgage loan has are the interest rate, the loan amount, and the length of the loan.

Other mortgage attributes that the user doesn’t input but that every mortgage has are the monthly interest rate and monthly mortgage amount.

The two methods I included in this program are a method to calculate the monthly payments the user will make on the loan and another method to calculate the total amount the user has to make overall (assuming it was a fixed rate loan).

class Mortgage:
    def __init__(self, user_name, interest_rate, loan_amount, loan_length):
        self.user_name = user_name
        self.interest_rate = interest_rate
        self.loan_amount = loan_amount
        self.loan_length = loan_length
        self.monthly_interest = self.interest_rate/100/12
        self.monthly_mortgage = (self.monthly_interest * self.loan_amount) / (1-((1 + self.monthly_interest))** (-self.loan_length * 12))

def calculate_monthly(self):
        formatted_monthly_mortgage = "${:,.2f}".format(self.monthly_mortgage)
        print(f"{self.user_name}, your monthly payments on a loan of this amount would be {formatted_monthly_mortgage}.")

def calculate_total_loan(self):
        total_loan_cost = (self.monthly_mortgage * self.loan_length) + self.loan_amount
        dollar_format = "${:,.2f}".format(total_loan_cost)