Are there tech recruiters that can help a self-taught beginner get an entry-level job?

I’m in my 40s, self-taught via Codecademy, and trying to pull off a career change and work as a software developer after years of tech-adjacent jobs. I have a GitHub with some small personal projects on it, and I’m continuing to learn more and to work on more projects. I’ve been finding that the learning part is relatively easy; it’s figuring out how to navigate an unfamiliar job market that’s tricky.

A friend suggested I look into tech recruiters, who might be able to help me get a job in exchange for a commission or a cut of my salary or something like that.

How feasible is this? Are there recruiters who’d help a rookie (with a lot of non-tech professional experience) like me find a job? Or do recruiters typically want people with more of a professional background than I have so far?

1 Like

It depends on the job you’re aiming for and your portfolio. Right now entry-level software engineer is tough for people that just graduated with computer science degrees (I have friends that just graduated in CS this past June that haven’t landed jobs yet) so you’d have to realistically be able to:

• have a portfolio that matches/exceeds them
  • be competitive enough for assessments (leetcode-style, “medium” difficulty questions)
  • know enough of the tech stack (or adjacent to it) that they ask for
  • know tools that help on the job: good enough linux, git, docker, databases, working with debuggers etc.
  • (nice to have) have some sort of extra background in the company’s area (for example, if it’s fintech, you’d have things in your portfolio that are finance-oriented, if it’s security, you’d have cybersec projects etc.)

In my experience employers have cared very little about my past years of work experience outside tech so I really just had to go by whatever I did after.