Are chatbots Python only?

I want to build a chatbot, but am not super interested in learning Python. Could I make a chatbot using C++ or something?

The question now would be, how well versed are you in C++?

Ummm, OK I guess? I just wanted to know if it was possible 'cause the only section for chatbots on the forums was a Python one.

That may be the only course, but it is not indicative of being the only language. Any language can be used to write a chatbot. Pick the one you are most comfortable with and learn to write APIs.

If we are to assume that you may well be a complete newbie, you might find Python a lot friendlier to learn than C++. That at least would give you some foundation in working with HTTP, database scripting, etc…

I got into C++ because I told my dad that I wanted to make video games, not just play Terraria all day, and he said I could try learning C++. Are you saying that I souldn’t learn C++ or that I should have started with something different?

Not at all. If you are committed and willing to put in the time then pour yourself into C. It is a steep, uphill climb, though, and probably not the easiest way to learn basic programming concepts. Python is a perfect entry level candidate to start you off. Having that in your pocket will make learning C a smoother prospect.

I’ve learned JS (sort of) on Khan Academy and done your Basics of programing lesson. Is that enogh? I have also alredy made a Mad Lib game and a Hangman game, and am working on Blackjack, all in C++. I don’t really want to start a new languige right now.

1 Like