Advanced Python Code Challenges: Control Flow, Task 5 "Max Number

Hi there!
I’m wondering it there a more elegant way to solve the task 5 “Max Number”:

Create a function called max_num() that has three parameters named num1 , num2 , and num3 .
The function should return the largest of these three numbers. If any of two numbers tie as the largest, you should return "It's a tie!" .

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/articles/advanced-python-code-challenges-control-flow

My solution is (but I am a novice):

def max_num(num1, num2, num3):
  if num1 > num2 and num1 > num3:
    return num1
  elif num2 > num1 and num2 > num3:
    return num2
  elif num3 > num1 and num3 > num2:
    return num3
  elif num1 == num2 and num1 > num3:
    return "It's a tie!"
  elif num1 == num3 and num1 > num2:
    return "It's a tie!"
  else:
    return "It's a tie!"
print(max_num(-10, 0, 10))
print(max_num(-10, 5, -30))
print(max_num(-5, -10, -10))
print(max_num(2, 3, 3))

Many thanks in advance! Cheers.

1 Like

I would write it out in paper to make sure your logic uses the least amount of statements possible to satisfy all demands. Also remember you can use >=
and you don’t need an extra else if your logic is tight too. Try running your logic out on paper and see how many steps it takes, if you finish all the possibilities on paper and you still have code left over, trim it.

The more interesting thing is how do we tackle this if the list is longer (like 1,000 numbers). I think if you figure out that idea you will get more out of this exercise. (The thought exercise is great even if you don’t have the command of the code to implement it yet, because once you do, you already figured out the concept, and it’s just a matter of syntax).

2 Likes